ara

"sizing" Leather: How's It Done

As a newbie I'm asking things that probably don't even register as first-rung questions but here's a little combination.

I'm looking to build a simple project or five as part of my introduction to leatherworking--and I'm starting to see where this just might get to be habit forming. I see consistent references to stock that is 2oz or 6oz or whatever. Is that ounces per square foot or something along those lines? Does the weight (I'm guessing an indicator of thickness) indicate what type of leather it may be (deer, goat, cow, elephant, full or split) or is it just one of several qualifiers that I will eventually learn to fit into the equation of a wise buy?

Not complaining, just happily ignorant and working on being thoroughly overwhelmed.

Thanks.

ara

As a newbie I'm asking things that probably don't even register as first-rung questions but here's a little combination.

I'm looking to build a simple project or five as part of my introduction to leatherworking--and I'm starting to see where this just might get to be habit forming. I see consistent references to stock that is 2oz or 6oz or whatever. Is that ounces per square foot or something along those lines? Does the weight (I'm guessing an indicator of thickness) indicate what type of leather it may be (deer, goat, cow, elephant, full or split) or is it just one of several qualifiers that I will eventually learn to fit into the equation of a wise buy?

Not complaining, just happily ignorant and working on being thoroughly overwhelmed.

Thanks.

ara

Hi Ara:

I know what you mean. I spent several months trying to understand the different leather weights. I found this and bookmarked it. Perhaps it will help you.

http://www.brettunsv...onversions.html

I hope that helps some. I can't find it now but I did see a site somewhere that compared the thicknesses to American coins. **** ha ha ha... just saw that Coin info near the bottom of that page!

Syl

Edited by Sylvia