Mike516

Granite Vs Marble

I'll start by saying I'm just getting started in learning leather working. I'm working on getting some tools together I'm going to need for practice and have a question.

I looked around the forums and saw a lot of threads devoted to setting up a shop, and different types of slabs used to work on. I couldn't find an answer to my question so I figured I'd just ask;

What's better for a stable surface to work on, granite or marble? I'm going to go to a stone place I know of near me and I'll take whatever scrap piece they'd be willing to give me, but given a choice...

Which is better, granite or marble?

What's a good thickness?

And what's a good size if I'm not making a whole table out of it?

Thanks.

Granite is more durable. You can mar the surface of marble with steel tools. Marble is also more susceptible to damage from heat.

The darker the granite, the more dense it will be, the stronger it will be.

I would go with the largest block you can get. I wouldn't get anything smaller than 1'x1'

A nice 4" thick piece of granite is good. Before I got that, I had a 1 1/2"x 12"x 12" and thought that was great. Almost anything is better than the 3/16" piece of Masonite that Tandy sold and I'm sure a lot of us started out with.

Kevin

Marble is hard but soft at the same time. Take a look in a Cemetery at the older marble stones the names and dates will be hard to read because their worn so bad and that's just from the weather. Get a granite surface plate from Enco or Grizzly both or on the web.

Thanks guys. I appreciate the advice.

I use a 6" grave stone turned over for my tooling, I went to a grave stone maker and asked for one that was scrap (misspelled name) and bough it for $10.00. I use a 1 3/8" piece of 12" x 24" piece of granite I picked up at a place that makes counter tops, it was in their scrap pile and I paid $20.00. You have to think out of the box, and be creative.