woody2shoes

Braiding Show Leads

Hi everyone, your forum is fantastic and full of information. I am only new at braiding and I don't understand a lot of the leather jargon so I'm hoping someone will be able to help me with some specific answers. I live in Australia so it's been quite a journey finding a site like this that can hopefully give me some guidance even if most of you are on the other side of the world.

I have had a go at 4 strand round braiding and am having a ball. The end result is that I would like to learn how to make top quality 4 & 6 strand rolled leather show leads, most likely with beading in time...and I'd love to learn to braid buttons too. I've ordered a book on braiding, I've purchased a fid, lace cutter, bevel and lacing needles online and should have these in the next few days.

So my first question is, what sort of leather lacing should I get for braiding my leads?

Secondly, is there a book/DVD/YouTube tutorial/website or combination of all or any of these which gives details on how to actually create a show lead, especially the beading, making of the wrist strap, back braiding etc. etc.

Thanks in advance for all and any feedback. I am really keen to hone my skills and look forward to sharing my projects in time.

Cheers,

Teresa

Edited by woody2shoes

So my first question is, what sort of leather lacing should I get for braiding my leads?

Secondly, is there a book/DVD/YouTube tutorial/website or combination of all or any of these which gives details on how to actually create a show lead, especially the beading, making of the wrist strap, back braiding etc. etc.

I think most of us that braid dog leads here use Kangaroo Hide. Available in your country at much, much cheaper price than here in the states.

I can only speak for myself on the second question. I used a total of 4 books to learn from.

Tom Hall's Introduction to Turks Heads

Robert L Woolery's Braiding Rawhide Horse Tack