I am fairly new to leather work and have a couple of questions about making a holster. I bought a kit for a holster at Tandy and plan to tool it like one of the suggested patterns. I also want to mold it to my gun. I am aware that you can lose some of the tooling by wet molding it, but a employee at the store said that I could dip it in water for a few seconds and that should be enough to mold it. There are a couple of sections in the pattern that I would like to dye black (mostly the background) my question is when do I do this step? Common sense would say that it should be done after it has completly dried from the wet molding, but bear in mind I'm new at this. Am I correct on this? Then after that dries do I apply the Super Sheen? The instructions say to do all the finishing before assembling it, but it doesn't mention anything about molding. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Edited by whitewolf81

Here is what I suggest...

Cut all your pieces

Do your tooling

Let dry completely

Apply your dye

Let it completely dry

Assemble and sew the holster

Dunk the holster in a pan full of room temperature water with one drop of dish soap for about 7-10 seconds, then sling the holster to remove the excess water

Form the holster with your fingers and bone folder - avoid using the bone folder over the tooling unless it's absolutely necessary.

There is some argument about this, but I place mine in an oven at about 135 degrees for 45 minutes

Remove from oven and place in front of a fan to dry overnight

Burnish and dye your edges according to Hidepounder's tutorial

Gum the interior to smooth it out (unless you lined it)

Apply your finish

Edited by particle