Miett

Newbie Question: Best Needle Brand?

Hello all! Please bear with me - I'm totally new to using an industrial leather sewing machine, so this might be a dumb question:

I'm using Organ brand needles in my Chandler machine, but have heard people mention in a couple places that there are better brands - though no one was specific. I'm sewing wallets, so the thickness of what I'm sewing is about 5-6 oz veg tan plus a couple layers of liner leather.

Does anyone have a favorite brand to recommend, or is Organ the best for what I'm doing?

Thanks in advance!

Hi Miett,

A lot of folks like and use Organ Needles without reservation. Personally, I find them a little bendy, for lack of a better description. I prefer Groz Beckert and Schmetz needles. I think you have to be sewing a while to get that particular, but that particular I am. I have a friend in the production line of fabric sewing that gets better mileage fron the Organ needles with titanium coatings. I don't know if I sew enough to even worry.

Art

Hello all! Please bear with me - I'm totally new to using an industrial leather sewing machine, so this might be a dumb question:

I'm using Organ brand needles in my Chandler machine, but have heard people mention in a couple places that there are better brands - though no one was specific. I'm sewing wallets, so the thickness of what I'm sewing is about 5-6 oz veg tan plus a couple layers of liner leather.

Does anyone have a favorite brand to recommend, or is Organ the best for what I'm doing?

Thanks in advance!

I am happy with Schmetz needles.

/ Knut

I seems to me that I get better loops using Schmetz needles than Organ. Both sew fine in forward, but sometimes when I sew in reverse, Organ needles may form a smaller loop than Schmetz and I get skipped stitches. Spinning the work 180 degrees and sewing in forward solves the problem, which should not occur at all on a well-timed machine.