Hi everyone,

I am a total newbie but an enthusiastic one :)

I want to make leather shoes and I figured out in order to achieve this I need a leather stitching machine.

I would like to make cup-soled (soft rubber) boots (or moccassins if you like) with a 4-5mm thick sole and leather upper. The sole is more like a crepe-sole but the edges curled up.

Can anyone suggest the best machine for this intended purpose?

I've been looking at a hand driven Frobana, its seems like an affordable and suitable candidate, but you tell me. :)

I'm also wondering if there are other Frobana models or only one? Because in the forums I saw some with a channel cuter knife and others with only teeth. Or it is only a question of changing parts?

Also a lot of people mentioned the size of the holes the needle makes. How big is it actually? And is it possible to feed the machine with anything else than waxed thread? Im thinking about wild colored artificial threads.

Any help is greatly appreciated, Happy Holidays:

Robin

Power Shoe, in Holland, sells a motorized Frobana sole stitcher. I think you can also get them in the US and Canada through the folks that sell Landis shoe repair machines.

Note, the Frobana only sews along the outside perimeter. It does not have any appreciable depth to sew inside or insoles. For that you will need a heavier post machine, or an insole stitcher.

All decorative sewing for your shoes can be done on a flat or post bed machine, equipped with either a roller foot, or a full triple feed walking foot. Some pictures of your work will help.

Also, have you been to the Crispin Colloquy website? It is all about shoe and boot making techniques and equipment.

Hello Robin,

The machine used to come with both feed dogs, so one could use the one that suited the work. You can see that here, on page 9: http://www.youblishe...ppertal-Barmen/