I have barely gotten my toes wet as far as leatherwork goes and I have never made a holster at all, so please understand this question comes from a complete novice. I want to make a paddle holster to hold my S&W M&P .40 so I would like to get some information.

If any of you folks make paddle holsters, how do you make the paddle sturdy enough to support the weight of the holster?

What size leather do you make holsters with?

In case anyone is not sure what I'm talking about here is a link to a paddle holster on a sales site.

http://www.tactical.com/leather-angle-adju...e-holsters.html

Thanks in Advance

David

You can buy paddles from Eagle industries, for their G-Code holsters, and they can be adapted to your holster design. They bolt on with two screws, and are made from Kydex. Here is a link:Eagle G-code holsters

For the type holster you have in mind, I would use 8-9 oz leather. Good luck in building your first holster. It can be a lot of fun, and the best way to learn is by doing it. You should get a lot more comments and helpful info here. :cowboy: John

Hi David.

I would suggest you get your feet wet making a few simpler holsters to start with before you tackle a paddle holster. It's easiest to start with a pancake style, and then move on to an avenger style. After you learn a few things from that, you'll have a better idea about what you need to do to make the paddle holster work right. I don't want to discourage you, I am merely giving you some friendly advice.