jjs111w

Home Made Speed Reducer For Singer 111W113

Have newly purchased old Singer 111w113 which has the original 3500 rpm motor that works great but way too fast for me. I am a novice just starting to do sewing work as I want to do a car interior in leather. I have done several car interiors using vinyl on an old White household machine but needed to get a good walking foot at a decent price, hence the 111w113 I found locally.

I viewed several old posts about slowing these machines down and ended drawing from what others have done with speed reduction. Using mostly scrap I had, angle iron, garage door opener bracing, a 5/8" shaft, some old pulleys, etc, I fabricated my not so good looking unit. The only items purchased was the 12" pulley and two 4-bolt pillow block bearing both from eBay. While we just got it working it does make a world of difference, really slows it down and I seem to have better control with the clutch now. We start sewing with it in a few weeks, so time will tell how well it work in real life projects.

Also if you notice in a couple of photos we added a home made foot operated presser foot lifter. The mechanism was on the machine but any actuation was not with the machine when purchased.

Thanks

jjs111w

post-55228-0-66851300-1411959085_thumb.j

post-55228-0-23533900-1411959099_thumb.j

post-55228-0-35171600-1411959110_thumb.j

post-55228-0-83227500-1411959124_thumb.j

post-55228-0-87836700-1411959134_thumb.j

I like to see shop-built solutions like this. Thanks for posting. You really went all-out on the speed reducer, but is the foot-lift made out of heavy enough material to hold up?

I’ve got to get busy and rig up a foot-lift for the presser bar on my Adler 205-64, and then learn how to use it. All of my other machines have knee-lift presser bar lifts on them (that have anything other than a hand lever lift). Having my machine mounted on a mechanic’s tool box will make rigging a challenge.

CD in Oklahoma