Simple question, is there much or a difference in quality ? what is the best leather and why ?

I can't speak for wepeveryone, only what I notice.... I find the hermann oak to be superior for a few reasons:

1. I think it carves a lot better. With the same swivel knife, I get better cut control etc. on the hermann oak. I feel like there's more drag on the Tandy, tho that could just be because I'm not that good at carving.

2. I find it easier to get an even dye job on the hermann. Using good dye, like firings pro oil, i get a more even look on the hermann oak.

3. This may be truly lack of experience or even a bad piece....I don't buy a lot of leather in quantity. Not even a little bit. I've onlh bought in the past year one side of Tandy and one of hermann...but I find that the weight of the hermann oak is more "realistic" than the Tandy. By that I mean, the 4/5 oz side I bought of the Tandy felt awful thin. Closer to 2/3 oz. Again, that could just be me not buying a lot of quantity.

This is all anecdotal, and of course, your mileage may vary. Let me know what you find, I'm interested in other perspectives.

Here it is in a nutshell:

Hermann Oak leather is tanned using one of the original vegetable based (from Oak) formula's that dates way back which gives the leather a true natural look when dried; the Tandy leathers (all of them) are tanned in Mexico using a more modern formula (not from Oak) that doesn't quite give you the color (dry or wet) that a quality oak tanned leather should.

The Hermann Oak leather is drawn from the top of the line U.S. Steer hides which are tougher and larger and they hand pick each skin that will be sent to their tannery; only the finest and cleanest hides make the cut, and that goes for all grades of theirs. Tandy doesn't quite put the emphasis on selecting quality skins to be sent to Mexico to be tanned and that creates a consistency issue.