Pit 4 Brains

Good Weight Leather For Wet Forming.

I have been looking at thousands of pics of holsters before trying to make one. My goal was to replace my Bianchi with a similar leather holster that will not rock or slide on the belt. I am new to leather so please bear with me. I have minimal tools but the collection slowly grows. I have wet formed a few small projects and I can't seem to achieve that "vacuum sealed " look that I want. In reality, my leather looks like I beat it to shape with a hammer. I used 6-8 oz veg tanned leather. Is my leather too thick to get a good fitting form? All in all, this holster came out well and it's something I'll wear when hunting since I won't mind dragging it through the Sonoran Desert brush.

The things I like:

My stitching is becoming more consistent as I go. I use a saddle stitch with a knot.

The holster wears well and fits my contour well.

The things I don't like:

Fingernail marks

Everything else

I tried to make this a pancake with the inside as flat as possible by making the outer leather bigger than the inner. It almost worked but glueing the two different sized pieces together was a solid pain. I guess I'll open myself self up to any and all criticism. I really want to learn how to make holsters as a hobby and maybe even a side income of sorts to pad a retirement.

Thanks, Pete

post-59854-0-96947000-1429472382_thumb.j

post-59854-0-74798600-1429472393_thumb.j

post-59854-0-59014000-1429472407_thumb.j

post-59854-0-75550300-1429472437_thumb.j

Edited by Pit 4 Brains