Bonadrag12

Buying A Juki 1541S - I Have A Few Questions

Hi guys!

So I found a semi used Juki 1541s for sale and I'm going to go take a look at it this weekend. Apparently it only has approximately 7 hrs of use on it. I'm just curious though if you guys could point out some obvious red flags I should look for when I go and inspect the machine? I've only ever used a Juki straight stitch at school, so I'm new to the walking foot.

Also, I'm having trouble finding someone with a truck in case I do decide to get it. I have a fairly roomy hatchback.... would I beable to safely dissassemble it i.e. remove the legs from the table top and transport it that way?

Any help, comments, suggestions are greatly appreciated!

The table/k-stand measures 48"Lx22"Wx30"H, With any tooling that is included (a screw driver) so the v-belt guard on the right side if installed, can be removed so tilting the machine head back for some inspection is possible now that would be great, its like 4 screws.

Anyway you already know running the machine as sewing a patch of something is great, but looking at the oil level in the tank when tilting the machine head back is obviously there and just a general looksee for clean metal and not results from a wet area like rust.

No matter transporting you will want to remove these parts, As the industrials tilt back the machine can be removed from the table. These are like 50-80lbs just the white part on that one is the in the high numbers.

Some of them have on the needle end an inspection door or removable 3 screw cap and allows a inspection, door is nice and 85bucs.

Im sure that hatch back can haul the k-stand but take a few small cresent wrenches to remove the thread stand.

The motor if a clutch type when moving can be cantankerous as it weighs a lot, a lot. so watch it.