sdkid

1st post

Hello from Pierre, SD. I'm fairly new to leathering(as my boys call it). My late father in law got me going. I mainly stamp simple designs. I'm moving towards some more difficult tooling and sewing projects. Lack of time and not enough practice are my biggest downfalls. I know I'll get better with time, but I'm an impatient person. See ya'll around, Chris.

:welcome: Come on in, Chris, and have a seat at the work table. Glad you could join us! Leather scraps over there <-----... The coffee is over there. ---> (Johanna makes it extra bold.) Sorry, the donuts are all gone, but Clay will bring more in the morning.

Feel free to ask questions and share your ideas, and don't forget to post images of your work.

Kate

Welcome, you are going to love this site, everyone is very open & willing to help. Looking forward to seeing your work, Alan

Hello and welcome to the board!!

Not enough time is not so funny but I know what it feels like and I think most of us do.

IF you're going to carve there is a simple practice I like to do that takes ten minutes.

Draw some S curves and a few straight lines onto some scrap leather and carve one S-curve - one stright line - one S-curve...and so forth.

If I've been away from carving a few weeks because of something, I do this one to before getting back onto subject to "wake up" my hands a little.

Tom

Welcome to the best place on the 'web. Tell, Clay thanks for the donuts, but don't eat them. Also don't forget a spoon for the sludge...er, coffee.

Take your time with your leatherwork, and ask all the questions you want, we'll be glad to help anyway we can.