ryano

Hello from OHIO!

Great sight with a lot of talented craftsmen and ladies. Sure is a wealth of knowledge within these forums. I am new to leather work. By trade I am an industrial engineer. I was a mold maker for about ten years prior to being an engineer. Oh and 7 years of college. I weld up old cars on the side and still do some machine work now and then. I have only been doing leather work sense July of this year. I had to have open heart surgery and needed something to keep me busy. I started out with belts and went on to making m/c saddle bags, tool pouches, chaps, sewing on patches, sewing in zippers. Pretty much anything that goes with motorcycles and cushmans. I have been having a lot of fun rounding up old leather working tools and machines. I have rounded up over a ton in tools and machines sense mid Aug. I live within a large Amish community and traded a lot of them out of there leather working tools. I can only sew up to 1/2" leather and need to round up a large cylinderbed machine that sews at least 3/4." Enough about me. Again, great sight!

Ryano,

Welcome to the board. You'll find everyone here friendly and willing to help. I too live in Ohio. But way down south near Cincinnati. If you are ever in the area, stop in to the Cincinnati Tandy store and tell them Dave sent you.....that and a buck will probably get you a cup of coffee.

Enjoy the site,

By the way, I'm into the motorcycle thing too.

David Theobald

Welcome to the Forum ryano!

You've definitely come to the right place. Lots to learn and share here. Sounds like you are a well rounded type, and your engineering, and mold making should be a big asset to all of us. Looking forward to pictures of your work!