KayeMagic

Hand Stitching Newbie

Hey everyone! I am new to leather working and have done a few small projects. As I have limited funds and can't afford a sewing machine I was wondering how you guys make your hand stitching look so good. Any tips or tricks for big/thick projects? Thanks in advance!

Youtube. Nigel Armitage / Armitage Leather. "Saddle-stitch in detail"

Watch repeatedly until you get it.

Edited by 25b

Ok great Thanks!!

My take on hand stitching.

I've got some leatherworking videos on my YouTube Channel.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOM3hbruUKHov9kquIxXKlA/videos

If you'd like to check it out.

One little tip - "set" the stitching when you've finished, either by rubbing it down with a bone folder or using a smooth face hammer. This tends to even the stitches out and ensure they lay lawn into the stitching groove.

Cheers!

This tends to even the stitches out and ensure they lay lawn into the stitching groove.

Cheers!

Note to OP...Not everyone cuts a stitching groove into their leather and it is NOT required that you do so...don't let anyone try to tell you otherwise. If you have any questions, please PM me and I'll help.

Thanks Everyone!

I do cut stitch grooves. But I want my thread to lay on or under the surface of the leather. I use a stitch wheel to set spacing. And pre punch my holes with an awl chucked into a drill press. Works well for me.

Hey everyone! I am new to leather working and have done a few small projects. As I have limited funds and can't afford a sewing machine I was wondering how you guys make your hand stitching look so good. Any tips or tricks for big/thick projects? Thanks in advance!