llucas

Servo For Adler 205-374

I have posted a few inquires about the Adler 205-374 I am rebuilding. The answers and suggestions have been most helpful as I am a complete newbie to sewing leather with a machine. It has been suggested that I replace my clutch motor with a servo and a speed reducer, which I am willing to do as I definitely see the advantage of a slower rate of stitching. Have any of you added a servo and reducer to your Adler 205-374 or your Durkopp Adler 205-370 and what would your recommend from your experience as a leather sewing pro? I want to get it right the first time without wasting time or money (which is in short supply, lol). I would like to get about one stitch per second (roughly) and still have plenty of torque to do the job. Recommendations?

The cheapest and most likely perfectly adequate setup would be a FESM550 style 550Watt motor with a 3:1 speed reducer. The FESM style motors are old-school in the sense of using brushes and a simple dial knob to adjust speed (as opposed to brushless motors with digital display controllers), but they actually work surprisingly well.

The 441 class of machines is WAY more popular and has nearly equal specs to the Adler 205. Many vendors (check the banner ads) sell 441 style machines with servo motors and speed reducers. Look what motor+reducer combos these vendors use (e.g. Cowboy 4500, TechSew 5100, Cobra 4, etc.) and you're probably looking at a good system.

Top speed of the motor is irrelevant because you will never use it at top speed sewing leather. Power and torque are related, but any difference in motor torque will be far outweighed by installing a 3:1 speed reducer. The weakest servo motors WITH a speed reducer will provide more torque than the more powerful motors WITHOUT a speed reducer.