joecool911

Thread Sources

I've been using .8 mm Tiger Thread. I've not found a USA supplier who has a reliable inventory. Second question is...any decent substitutes for Tiger thread? Looking to stay with poly .8 mm.

I've been working on solving this problem for the last 6 months. I've had issues/headaches with factories in China along the way, but I've finally found a good factory in Italy that can produce this type of thread for my store. This thread is not in stock yet (I have tested it, and it's good!), but will be ordering 0.6mm and 0.8mm thread soon. Target price is $25 for 500m. One nice thing is that you be able to get 0.6mm in 500m rolls, instead of 1000m; so it will be more affordable to have multiple colors.

If anyone has suggestions for colors, let me know.

Let us know when you get the new thread in. I will be interested.

Thanks,

Phill

I use .8 mm Tiger thread on my heavier projects, but I don't do enough heavier work to justify tracking down a source for the full rolls. I buy the small quantities off Etsy.

For all my regular lighter-weight work I use Maine Thread Company's waxed polycord. I really like working with it and it's actually made in the USA, which is great. Check out their website and request a sample card (which I believe is free.) I use their .03" for my stuff, but you'd likely want heavier to approach the .8 mm you're used to. They don't do braided thread, so I guess disregard if that's a deal breaker...

Anyway, it may or may not work for what you do, but I've had really good experiences dealing with them and their thread works great for me.