bob21804

Tell Me About This Skiver

I'm pretty new to leatherwork, and recently bought a chest full of tools at a 2nd hand shop, including this (what I'm assuming is a) Skiver. Can anybody tell me anything about it? It has a patent # and some other text inside the hinged door where the blade goes, but I need a bigger magnifier to read it. Also on the handle it says FIRM Blade (with FIRM in all caps and "blade" in script). Also, I'm specifically wondering where to get blades for it. As you might be able to see in the attached pic, I tried a blade from a safety skiver, but it was a bit too big and broke when I closed the hinged door. I appreciate any info you can give me.

Thanks,

Bob

post-69056-0-35992900-1457408080_thumb.j

Well, so far no responses, but I found the original (broken) blade that was in this skiver, and it also says "FIRM Blade", so I did a quick internet search using that term and found a few that had been listed in Worthpoint.com, unfortunately still not much info - not even any reference to leatherwork, so I'll keep looking. Again, if anybody has any info, let me know. Thanks! (I tried 3 times to post a link, but for some reason, it's not working for me)

Edited by bob21804

Go to eBay closed autions. Item number 272127202950 both sides of the instruction sheet are there too.

Thanks guys. I appreciate the info and the link. I think I'll have a very hard time get ahold of any blades for this old skiver, but I'll keep my eye and ears open, just in case I get lucky some time. At least now I have some more info. If, by chance anybody has some of these blades to sell, or know where I can get a few, please let me know.

Bob

The blades (the one pictured has the end broken off) look like the standard injector razor blades. Should be at the drug store or food store. I'm pretty sure you can get them at Tandy or SLC.

Art