landrand

Double Needle Machine Uses (Singer 112G139 & 300W-1)

I recently purchased a Consew 206RB-2 compound walking-foot sewing machine from a local shop which is selling some of their older machines. The shop also has an old Singer 112G139 (double needle, lock stitch, w/puller feed) and a Singer 300W-01 (double needle, chain stitch, w/puller feed) sewing machines for sale and I'm wondering if I should pick up one of these as well. My problem is I have no experience in sewing and know very little about sewing machines in general. This week I've spent considerable amount of time researching these machines on-line and have picked up a little knowledge about sewing in general.

In a few years I plan to retire and am looking to pursue a hobby that will help me through these long, cold, and snowy Northern Michigan winters. I'm an outdoor enthusiast (fishing, hunting, hiking, camping, sailing) so I think it would be fun to make some of my own gear as well as re-upholster my car/boat seats and take on various canvas projects. I understand I have a long learning curve ahead of me, but as an computer engineer, I welcome the opportunity to learn and develop a new skill. At this point in time I'm only looking to do this as a hobby, but in the future if I become somewhat efficient, perhaps I might attempt to make some "beer money" doing projects for others.

For example, here's a list of items I would eventually like to make:

A small quantity of leather items such as: knife sheaths, pistol holster, belts, leather carrying straps for wicker fishing creels, leather rifle sling, re-upholster a Ford truck bench seat using leather.

Seat cushions, curtains, and various canvas items (biminis, awnings, dodger, covers) for a couple of sail boat restoration projects. Canvas gear bags with leather carrying straps. Winter canvas camping/hunting wall tent. Heavy wool hunting jacket, anorak, and pants. A pair of extreme cold weather gauntlet mittens and mukluk's.