ccw505

First Project - Stitching Pony

Hello All,

I'm quite new to leatherworking and after a few small projects decided a stitching pony was very much needed! I searched high and low for a quality one, but couldn't find anything - so I made my own. I used quatersawn cherry throughout with a hand shaped cam clamp and leather lined jaws. Any input on design from seasoned leatherworkers would be appreciated. Here'a an "in progress" and "complete" picture.

IMG_2060.JPG

IMG_2083.JPG

Nice work! If it's not too much to ask how much do you have in the cost of material? Was thinking of making one myself, and just was curious what the approximate cost was going tom be.

Well, it definitely depends on the wood used. I decided on cherry because I wanted to make something nice. However, even with the premium wood I probably have only $25-30 in materials. With pine or doug fir you could likely get that down to the $10 range.

That's a nice job. I especially line the cam closure and am going to need to modify mine now.

Personally I built a hybrid between a pony and horse. I extended the location of the arms to provide more working room. The arms can also be rotated to provide a better work angle iof the work requires. The extension is supported by a piece of PVC built-in vacuum cleaner pipe so it remains portable and storable.

Built from pine.

Still can't decide if I should call it a Hony or a Porse.

Lacing Pony 01 Web.jpgLacing Pony 05 Web.jpgLacing Pony 02 Web.jpg

Definitely Hony! Looks great...I went back and forth on whether or not I should extend the clam out from the base as you did. Now seeing yours, I may have to build and alternate base to try it out. Great looking pine BTW.

1 hour ago, ccw505 said:

Well, it definitely depends on the wood used. I decided on cherry because I wanted to make something nice. However, even with the premium wood I probably have only $25-30 in materials. With pine or doug fir you could likely get that down to the $10 range.