Wax

Just Asking

Hi I'm new here so Hi to All, and thanks in Advance.

I have a few questions about the item Below. Mainly i have just bought it and although the top section of the blade Marked in RED is very sharp the lower section marked in Black is a lot less so. With limited knowledge of sharpening leather tools I thought i would ask are there any particular things I need to know and if necessary a point in the right direction to a good tutorial would be great. Stones and types would be very help full.

I have outlined 2 Different positions i can get the blade fixed into..Marked position 1 and 2 ...My guess was that Position 2 I the Correct one ?  Hence why the blade is dull at the section I want to be Sharp ? Is there any harm in re positioning the knife to suit ? 

Also any advice on the shape that the blade currently has ?

I also guessed this may be a Dixon guide...would i be right in thinking that and is the blade the same ?

Im new to Leatherwork and the forum so thank you and look forward to the Exchanges.

FullSizeRender-3.jpg

FullSizeRender-4.jpg

FullSizeRender-5.jpg

FullSizeRender-6.jpg

FullSizeRender-7.jpg

FullSizeRender-1.jpg

FullSizeRender-2.jpg

Hi Wax,

What you have is called a plough gauge.  It is more popular over here in Europe than in the USA, where a draw knife is more usual.  As the name suggests, you push the blade through the leather, rather than pull, as you do with a draw knife. 

As I'm sure you've figured out, you can slide the fence, to the left of the knife, along a scale, and then tighten it at the appropriate measurement, which gives you the width of the strap you want.  You then raise or lower the brass bail/roller to accommodate the substance of the leather you're cutting.