Emmo

My First Gun Belt- All Advice Welcome

I’m fairly new to working with leather.  So far I have made a dozen or so gun holsters, mostly using whatever materials I had on hand and using Tandy for anything I was missing.  I’m going to make a gun belt for my next project, but I’m trying to be a little better prepared before starting.  I’ve spent the past few weeks reading back through old discussions and watching videos on making belts.  Here is what I have and plan to order, along with a few details.  I’m going to cut my own blanks 1 ½ inch wide.  I have two pieces from Tandy, 5/7 oz double shoulder and 8/9 oz side.  I’m planning to cut two blanks from the double shoulder and glue together and stitch.  I’m going to hand stitch the two layers, 6 SPI using an overstitch wheel to layout the pattern.  My needles are from Tandy and based on and old discussion I found here, I would say they are comparable to a size 2 (002) using the John Jones chart (55 mm long x 1.02 mm dia).  For thread, I had planned to order .8 mm Slam from Lekoza, but I don’t see they have it in black.  They do have .6 mm in black so perhaps that would work.  I’ll be using an Osborne awl for the holes.     I’d welcome any thoughts or suggestions you would care to make.  Would the .6 mm Slam be a good choice for the thread or is there something else I should consider? Thanks.

(Chewing on the popcorn, just waiting for replies)

I haven't heard of that thread, but lots of folks really like the Tiger thread. There is a fella here that sells it... search feature is necessary, I can't remember who off the top of my head. You also never mentioned what style of gunbelt, so it is hard to comment on that as well. Soooo... pass the popcorn Mutt, don't be a Bogard :)

I'm totally bogarting the popcorn.

4 minutes ago, bikermutt07 said:

I'm totally bogarting the popcorn.

The popcorn you are eating, has been pee'd on... film at 11.

Go ahead and name that movie... I dare ya

15 minutes ago, CaptQuirk said: