Chayse

Greetings from Central Florida

Hello all, thought I would introduce myself..I am a newbie to the world of leather but not to sewing. My mother taught all of us children how to sew at an early age...I just stuck with it. My main hobbies include everything metal...I am a certified welder and I am graduating from CNC Machinist school next month. although I am just a desk jockey through the week. I currently own two machines...a singer 20U33 and the new addition, a Chandler 305-64.

I am interested in leather and the art of leathercraft...I am one who enjoys working with my hands and seeing the fruits of my labor when finished. I do have a couple of projects lined up once the rehab of the Chandler table is complete. I will mainly meddle in a few holsters and concentrate on dog collars, as we currently foster and rescue Belgian Malinois dogs...I was a former dog trainer in the military and carried it through to my civilian job for a few years.

I have already learned a lot here on this forum when I lurked...it simply amazes me what one can do with leather. I am looking forward to learning and expanding my knowledge base in this craft!

V/r,

Chayse

Howdy, dog collars are an excellent item to start with.

I encourage everyone to start with small repeatable items. Start with a shoulder and a strap cutter. This will allow you to hone all the techniques on the least amount of leather. When you botch one, it doesn't cost much. Also, you can do several at once.

This is a lesson I didn't learn until I was in it for a bit. I was making one off items and then jumping to something else. I was never happy with my final results because the basic s.o.p. was not taking root. I would forget a step or my burnishing wasn't good enough, etc etc....

Good luck and enjoy yourself.

Thanks for the warm welcome and insight, once the Chandler is operational and properly sewing, I will definitely take my time. Thanks again!

David from W Gainsville, Fl ,