Harixheshke

Leather Jewelry With Stone Inlay

Hello! I'm fairly new to leather working. I've only made a few dog collars but I'm interested in branching out. I also apprentice with a silver smith so I'm hoping to combine both skills. 

I've been really wanting to make some leather cuffs and rings with varied sizes of cabochons within the stamped design. What would be the most effective way to do this? Also, if anyone has done this before, what weight leather do you recommend?

I included a photo of an artist that does exactly what I'm trying to learn. 

IMG_0408.PNG

IMG_0409.PNG

Hello and welcome to the forum!  These look like conchos, particularly the second one.  A concho would be either riveted or attached with a screw to the leather.  Whenever I see a metal bezel on the stone it means it's probably mechanically attached with a screw or rivet.  For the first one, the three stones may be attached to a metal plate that is being held in place by the four round silver knobs between the stones. 

Hello and welcome to the forum!  These look like conchos, particularly the second one.  A concho would be either riveted or attached with a screw to the leather.  Whenever I see a metal bezel on the stone it means it's probably mechanically attached with a screw or rivet.  For the first one, the three stones may be attached to a metal plate that is being held in place by the four round silver knobs between the stones. 

Awesome!! Good to know. Thank you so much!