I'm relatively new to the world of sewing and I've begun to get my Singer 111W113 back in working order after having it in storage for the past two years. When I bought the machine back in 2014 everything was aligned and the outer presser foot operated properly. While putting everything back together I'm realizing that the outer foot has far too much clearance, especially when sewing a few layers of material. I'm currently working with a lot of Cordura and heavy canvas for making bags. 6+ layers of Cordura are thick enough to make contact with the outer foot and provide pressure. Less material just slides around freely.

I've made attempts to adjust the height of this bar but it seems to be in it's lowest possible position. Is there more to adjusting the outer foot pressure / clearance than just the screw on the top rear of the machine? Thanks in advance!

111w113_outerpresserfoot_high.jpg

111w113_outerpresserfoot_low.jpg

Edited by ultimind
sentance

Which screw are you talking about? The screw that adjusts the rocking arm at the back is the usual way of adjusting the feet. The height of the bar holding the foot can also be adjusted from inside, but it can be a bit fiddly because, in my experience, all these adjustments tend to be interlinked.

1 hour ago, dikman said:

Which screw are you talking about? The screw that adjusts the rocking arm at the back is the usual way of adjusting the feet. The height of the bar holding the foot can also be adjusted from inside, but it can be a bit fiddly because, in my experience, all these adjustments tend to be interlinked.

This is the screw I've been fiddling with to adjust the feet. I've noticed they're very much interlinked and I have only had luck moving things up but not further down beyond where I've got them now.

111W113_TOPADJUST.jpg