Acro

Beeswax for Thread

I'm new to leather working and new to the forum.  Still getting supplies together and I had an interesting (unusual/odd) thought . . . I need some beeswax and I happen to have an abundance of Lip Balm that I'll never use.  I have 2 different types.

The first contains:  Sunflower Oil, Beeswax, Coconut Oil, Essential Oils of Orange, Lemon and Lime, Vitamin E, Rosemary Extract, Calendula Extract, Octinoxate (7.5%), and Oxybenzone (3%).

The 2nd contains:  Sunflower oil, Beeswax, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Hemp Seed Oil, Rosemary Extract, Vitamin E, Aloe Vera, Avobenzone (2.0%), Octinoxate (6.5%), Octisalate (5.0%), and Octocrylene (1.5%)

I'll be sewing by hand, with polyester thread and using fish leather and reptile leathers.

Besides the beeswax, do you have any idea if the other ingredients will be ok on the thread and leather?

Edited by Acro

Most polyester thread is prewaxed, and even waxless is pretty slippery. Wax is essential for linen threads, though a mix of beeswax and rosin is miles better. I wouldn't bother with the wax on your thread, unless you try it and find that it needs it.

Try it out who knows may be you'll find the next great thing:Lighten:

Maybe I don't need to wax the thread, but I like the waxed thread look better.  At least, I think it's noticeable . . . or did I make that up?

Lip Balmed thread seems to work, yet I've not used plain beeswax before so I have nothing to compare it to. 

As for the ingredients, I was just worried that some of the ingredients would react with the thread and leather (example, staining, weaken, corrosive).  So far, I haven't noticed a problem, but it's only been a few days, and I only used the waxed lip balmed thread on a 2 inch section of leather.

I doubt anyone will be able to give you any kind of definitive answer on the long term effects of using lip balm. But why mess around? Beeswax is cheap and easily available, why risk adverse affects in products that should last decades?