Mokerson

VB Tools worth their price?

So... I've been buying VB tools for a few months now, as I need something I will order it and so far I have had no complaints.  They have been solid, the finish has been an improvement over the stuff I have been using and I have had no complaints.  I have mostly picked up cutting tools, hammers and dividers so far, and I have felt they were a good product for the price I paid.  I just got in some edge bevelers though and I have to admit (still being a noob to leather work I don't have an extensive point of reference relating to the various tool mfrs.) when I unpacked them I was sure that they had sent me the wrong product.  The fit and finish on these tools are really lacking!  While I don't know if the comparable Tandy tools cut better or worse, they certainly look like they were better made and assembled.  There is no consistency in the location of the groove on the bevelers, none of them are in the center of the tool, there are huge grooves and gouges from the making process with little attempt made to clean them up and make them into a presentable, finished tool.  The ferules have burr's on them and just generally do not look like they came from the same place the rest of the VB tools I have.  Is this normal for VB?  I was considering ordering a set of oblong punches from them as well, but after seeing how they treated the steel on the bevelers I am expecting a very similar approach to a set of these punches.  I am ordering a set of Montana bevelers to replace the VB ones I just got, but any advice or insight into the oblong punches would be appreciated.  Like most here I suspect, I am a bit of a tool collector but in the end the tool needs to perform the job well, and how it looks is of little importance to how it performs, but for the price I would like to think that they can produce a tool that looks finished AND does the job it was made for.