Mjolnir

None of your beezwax!

May be a misleading title, but I thought it was fun. I'm a beginner, I have a lot of art supplies; tools, paint...etc, sculpting tools, papercraft tools blah blah. I have tools, I mean lowes tools. I like wood work so I have some of that stuff too. After starting leathercraft sometimes I've hit a dead end and I have used what I have.

For ex. Recently I've been very impressed with using wood stain on leather. It accentuates the leather, the saturation of color is a little thin. Metallic paint from hobby lobby works very well. Metallic spray paint does not! It stains but the color isn't accurate. Inks seem to work well. I've read that some of you use sharpie markers for your edges.

What other alternatives are there for leather that do not have the leather price tag?

PS I actually love beeswax. I am about to purchase carnuba wax. but I could probably get some car wax cheaper.

Alternative ideas anyone?

The only alternative I have for beeswax is more beeswax. But, I have family that supplies me with beeswax. From the bees themselves. They don't know. Sshhhh!

I've heard the Sharpie marker thing, I tried it once. Okay, twice. I didn't like it. Too black, too shiny. Too easy to do it right with dye or edge paint. 

That's all I've got.

Jeff

i use a granite floor tile that I got for $9 bucks from Home Depot as my surface for tooling. Had it for going on 2 years now, and it has yet to crack or chip. And if it does, I can replace it numerous times for what a marble slab from Tandy would cost me! 

Bought 3 glass shot glasses from Wal Mart for mixing dyes. The clean up really well when I'm finished, and so far,  I've yet to knock them over, as the bottoms are nice and heavy! Before that I was using the disposable ones, and they were so light in weight I had to be REALLY careful not to knock them over.

8 minutes ago, Sheilajeanne said: