I've been working leather for about six months.  All my learning is from YouTube, books and trial and error. I think I may be to the point where my stupid questions may be formulated as not to be as stupid as they wouldve been six months ago.

My questions and thoughts concern stitching irons/chisels, the ones that are multi tined and are used to punch holes through leather to sew without useing an awl.

1,  My first tool was a Craftool brand 3 mm 4 prong.  I wanted more of an assortment--and not caring for the Craftool--I bought a set of four  Aiskaer White Steel 4mm Diamond Lacing Stitching Chisels for 12 bucks. When the two brands are placed point to point the tines are identically spaced. What gives?  I wonder if the Chinese Aiskers are wrongly described and are actually 3mm?  How are these measured and are there different methods of measuring?  Most seem to be sold stating the size in millimeters. I see a few brands that state the stitches per inch (SPI) which seems to make more sense to me.

2,  Does one match the chisel or thread to the thickness of leather or to the amount of desired spacing between stitches, or, to the thickness of thread? I would think the thinner the leather the closer the spacing and thinner the thread and hole?

3,   European vs American.  I often hear folks referring to American style as being bulky.  From what I gather they mean that useing a stitching iron results in a bigger hole than a pricking iron and awl? 

4,  I watched some of Nigel's videos and bought a couple of KS Blades pricking irons.  Not having the experience or knowledge of the tools I really don't know what I have or how or when to use them. I've used them a few times but the tool make such a narrow slit that I often need to use an awl to open it up.   Maybe it's because of my lack of experience but I don't care for them.  Are the KS tools for thinner thread or leather?  How, why and when should they be used?