Hi! I've tried searching other threads for answers first (MANY times), but I seem to continue to have issues with my thread tension and I'm dying for some insight.  As you'll see in the photos (just a trial run so let's not even talk about how terrible it is haha) one side of the thread seems to be fine, and the back side is always appearing to pull through. It doesn't matter the thickness of material I'm using, and the issue still occurs when I change thread size. I've attempted to bring the tension all the way up/down and adjust a little at a time, but this issue never goes away. I'm threading right, the bobbin is facing the right way, the needle size is correct.. I'm just at a loss. The machine is less than a year old. I'm new to the industrial machine so it's certainly been a learning curve and it could totally be something I'm just overlooking. Any suggestions?

unnamed-3.jpg

unnamed-4.jpg

The backside seam actually looks like I would expect it to look. It may not be the way you want it to look, but to a degree this is just how this class of sewing machines work. The side where the needle enters the material generally looks nicer and neater than the side where the needle exits the material, especially with leather. Factors like material, thread size, needle size and the shape of the needle point (regular point or various leather cutting edges) all influence how this looks. 

There is no absolute "correct needle", there is only "suitable needle for one particular application and combination of thread and materials."

The knot does actually get pulled to the middle of the material, so that's technically correct and what you want. The pucker or flattened mound you see on the backside is a result of the material getting torn and pushed outward as the needle exits. When the needle retracts again, that exit wound closes up to some degree but often leaves a little mound behind, depending on material. How bad that "exit wound" looks depends on many factors.