doorty

Hand Sewn Motorcycle Seat with Pleats?

I'll start by saying I'm new to leatherworking, and I'd like to try to do this by hand if possible. (I don't have a machine.)

My main concern is sewing the foam channels/pleats to the leather to give it padded ridges. I've never seen anyone do this by hand. Is it possible?

I want to make the tan seat below. I've been eyeing a soft, 5-6oz latigo, but it might be too thick? I want a leather that will last and age nicely.

I'm up for ideas. Thanks.

racer-leather-seat-triumph-thruxton-1200-single-4.jpg

racer-leather-seat-triumph-thruxton-1200-single-3.jpg

pleats-foam.jpg

Edited by doorty
added link for video

22 hours ago, doorty said:

sewing the foam channels/pleats to the leather to give it padded ridges

I do believe this is done by using a medium weight padding, which is squashed down along the stitch lines, on the tan seat anyway. On the grey piece in the last pic, it appears the foam padding, which is thicker than on the tan seat, is cut into strips and gives more depth to the stitch lines.

As for the best leather to use for your project, I will have to leave that question for somebody who actually knows what they are talking about, 'cos I don't.  

19 hours ago, Rockoboy said:

I do believe this is done by using a medium weight padding, which is squashed down along the stitch lines, on the tan seat anyway. On the grey piece in the last pic, it appears the foam padding, which is thicker than on the tan seat, is cut into strips and gives more depth to the stitch lines.

Right, but can you do it without a machine?

You gave me an idea, which is to do the leather stitching first and then glue strips of foam between the stitching. it's a bit of a hack, but it might work if the glue is strong enough.

Edited by doorty

1 hour ago, doorty said:

do the leather stitching first and then glue strips of foam between the stitching