roguewolf

Leathercrafting helped save my life

Hi Folks, 

I finally decided it's time to start becoming active on the forum. I've been lurking for years but have been going through some big changes recently that has made me want to tell the world about my story how Leatherworking has helped to save my life. I have been working leather for many years and sold my goods part time only  as I had a solid career in IT as a contractor that kept me pretty busy (on call a lot). Last December I was forced to retire as contractors have no job security and I was diagnosed with throat cancer stage 4 and would not be able to work during treatment. The treatments were both chemo and radiation for 8 weeks. The chemo damaged my kidney function but not enough to need dialysis, hopefully never. My throat closed up and even after the 8 weeks after treatment I still have to eat through a tube, but I am starting to swallow again finally, it's just going to take a while.  The good news is so far at least the cancer is gone, I'll know for sure in July when I get another PET scan. I'm almost feeling like myself again, well my new self as I lost over 80 pounds, I'm down to 235.  I did need to lose weight but that's not the best way for sure but it's done and I my blood pressure is normal without meds!