ComputerDoctor

Hydro/ vacuum formed knife sheath

This is my first attempt at Hydro/ vacuum forming so I thought I'd try a hunting knife.

I used a 4 oz Veg tanned, alligator patterned medium, which was thin enough when soaking wet to form well under vacuum. Drying took a few days and then the 2 halves were glued together as shown in the last picture. It is not anywhere near complete yet. I will post the results. :)

Sam

IMG_2637.JPG

IMG_2639.JPG

IMG_2642.JPG

IMG_2651.JPG

IMG_2650.JPG

IMG_2649.JPG

looks good so far! look forward to see where you go from here.

I have one unit for leather and one for sous vide.

I generally put the sealed bag in the sun to set the leather for a few hours and then open it up. It will never dry in the bag!!

Bob

It looks like there are constrictions on it being unable to pull the knife out, you could put infills in place where the narrow parts are with say plastic or wood at the start , so the final sheath is a tight but straight pull out

3 hours ago, chrisash said:

It looks like there are constrictions on it being unable to pull the knife out, you could put infills in place where the narrow parts are with say plastic or wood at the start , so the final sheath is a tight but straight pull out

I agree with Chrisash - first thing I noticed was the leather formed around the handle bump as a potential barrier to drawing the knife.

I use a small vacuum bag from my kitchen for small items and I place a smooth piece of wood behind the leather to prevent the cross hatch pattern from the vacuum bag from imprinting on the leather.  The bags have the cross hatch only on one side to pull the vacuum.

Gary