SilverForgeStudio

Hampton Roads anyone? Older guy getting into it for more than crafts and chatzkes

New to leather in general- always liked working with my hands. Im in SE Virginia. I would love to meet and grab a coffee with anyone from Richmond to Raleigh and learn- as well as horse trade and be cheap shop labor if they need a hand.

My interests are mostly metal related- and now Im branching out into leather, kydex, wood and other mediums to go with the metals. In honesty Im a 25+year paramedic looking to slow down and have some fun as I explore my next adventure. (Main hobbies are casting/foundry and forging/blacksmithing (Metal detecting IS a hobby- but its metal related as well... soooooo- metals it is!)

Specific to leather Im looking to learn bags/wallets, holsters, belts (gun/casual/dress), and general strapping, wet-molding and whatever else my "Jobbies" throw at me. Im looking to do a few projects for my family and myself to continue learning and let this thing grow.

Yes, Im a long time reader and lurker- Ive digested the Wiz's sewing machine threads and Aurthur Paynes vidoes, and just about every pattern making thread here.

Why did I join? Glad you asked- Im at a point I need some help and guidance as well as I think I can contribute as well to some areas. This is a great place to chew on ideas, perspectives and some downright funny happenings- as well as serious advice and business outlooks too!

Thank you for allowing me to share what you folks have created- I hope to add something to these pages positive as well in the process and grow.

Thank you- Duncan

Welcome to the most fun frustration available on planet Earth.

A simple suggestion.

Start things in batches. 

Small bracelets, card holder wallets, keychains, something small that won't require a lot of leather.

Take your group thru the whole process as a batch.

This will yield greater improvement with each step in the process with less material.