PerniciousDuke

Male Nightingale Armor Skyrim - WIP

Hello everyone!

Thank you for having me here. I started off by posting a question about weathering leather, but since you guys have actually active members I thought I would maintain a build log here for those interested in following along! :)

My background is mostly in Tandy leather kits (wallets, guitar straps, purses, holsters etc) Years of experience, but all self taught which means I could probably improve A LOT!

I have a (2) hide sides that are 7-9oz veg tanned tooling leather that have been collecting dust for too long, combined with a new found love for cosplaying, have inspired me to build a set of leather armor from a video game.

Here is a link to my original build log from my native land. For leatherworker.net I will focus on the leather crafting aspect and not so much on the costume part.

Here are a couple images of the suit I am trying to make. It is from a video game which means that to create it in the real world there will be sacrifices, but the goal is to get as close as possible.
20181201_171157.jpg.c2a8506fb70f79dce2c7f02c61c2b950.jpg(in game)            Screenshot_20180320-102126.png.4d4546cf7277e274617aa70a034b9c97.png(action figure)

First I took the 3d model from the game and used a program called pepakura to unfold it flat so that I could print it out on paper. Then I taped the paper to a dummy with the wearer's exact dimensions.

20190107_191257.thumb.jpg.4551b675a1e62bad0c8e47dadd33b6b3.jpg

Before I start cutting out the pieces I wanted to have a game plan for the tooling and dying.
My first concern was how to add that detail. Here is a close up.
Screenshot_20190107-195718_Gallery.jpg.b0fb4edb1fd11e7f497bbd07054f02d1.jpg
It looks like they are just hammered down with something like a pear stamp (is that the correct term?)
But if I were to do that does it pop enough for my liking? So I thought about cutting the detail in and fading out a background tool around them.