Sanstar

Hello

Just wanted to introduce myself.

I'v been lurking for a while and i really would like to get a machine to sew leather, but i am totally lost as to what to get.

I have looked at 3 different machines, Feitsew 1156, Pfaff 145-h3-6A1C, and a Consew 225.

I want to be able to sew leather wallets, but I would mainly use it to make covers for car and boat wheels and upholstry work on car seats.

Any advice from the professionals out there?

Thanks

Consew 225.jpg

Pfaff 145.jpg

Feitsew.jpg

I'm NOT a pro ..... But I can offer a few tips. I sew big heavy bags and backpacks for fun and I make and sew up Sunbrella canvas boat covers, biminis and boat upholstery for the well heeled.

My go to machine is a Consew 226R with a 550 watt Consew servo motor and a speed reducer pulley. You can spot these machines a mile away. They all look the same regardless of who made them. They are still around because they are excellent, reliable, old school machines.  But the older models have smaller bobbins. My Consew 226R still has the older smaller bobbin. Do a little research and figure out when the various brands started going to a bigger bobbin. Seiko, Juki, Consew.

And it must be a compound feed machine. I paid $730 for my 226r had to fix a broken upper thread tension lever and added the servo and speed reducer pulley.  Watch all of Uwe Groose's fix it videos you learn a lot about fixing things yourself.  Good luck finding a new machine. 

20190113_162246.jpg

20180911_155115.jpg

10 hours ago, Primosand said:

I'm NOT a pro ..... But I can offer a few tips. I sew big heavy bags and backpacks for fun and I make and sew up Sunbrella canvas boat covers, biminis and boat upholstery for the well heeled.