fighttobreathe

Help with Prepping Leather for Braiding

First time posting here! Be gentle! 

I've been doing some leatherwork on and off for a few years. I'm pretty much self taught so there are some large gaps in my knowledge. I started in the theatrical costuming world, so I know how to sew or hand sew pretty much anything, and I can figure out any pattern I want to make. What I'm lacking is proper knowledge of leather prep.

The project I'm working on now is recreating a braided leather hackamore for my father. The original was my great grandfathers and the last flood here in Bastrop got it.

I know how to do the braid, it's a 8 string square braid over a core, that's the easy part. What I would like to know is threefold....

1. I have the Tandy table top lace cutter, which I like fine. BUT what happens when you don't have long enough strings to create the whole braid? Is there a way to join ends when you know you're about to hit the end? I know I can hide a join under the other stands during the braid, but I'm not sure how to accomplish the join in the first place... skive the two ends and glue? Add a few stitches?

2. Do you bevel the edges of each of your strings in order to make everything look cleaner and neater? If so, what do you use? I have a french beveler, but it doesn't seem to be the best tool for the job... 

3. The leather I think I'm using is the Acadia Old Town Folklore. It's about 5-5.5 oz. Is that going to be too think? I could have ordered it and had them dry split it, but I didn't think of it at the time. Should I invest in a manual splitter? I've seen them for $200 and over, but I can barely afford the $200 version...

Any and all suggestions are SO VERY WELCOME! 

Thank you all,

CA

Joining a braid.