Dave3006

Sewing machine - transition from thin to thick, getting hung up

I've done hand stitching for a couple of years and wanted to move to a machine.  I ended up getting the CB-341 from @SolarLeatherMachines, which was a great experience.  So, I'm a newbie to using machines. My first project was a Dopp kit using bridle leather about 3-4 ounces.  It went together pretty well with sewing the zippers.  Then I ran into a problem sewing the ends where the leather goes from two layers of leather to the thicker four layers.  See images and the green box showing the thicker section.

The machine sews four layers without a problem - the problem is with the transition from thinner two layers to the four.  The machine would hang up at the thicker part and not step up and onto the thicker part. 

How does one successfully make the transition from the thinner, two layers, to the thicker, four layers of leather?

The image is from inside the bag, looking down and at the end. The green is there I was getting hung up.

Thanks!

1.png

The trick is to walk your stitch right to the edge of the thicker portion. Stop needle down and then raise the presser foot lever. Take a piece of leather, or any stiff material the same thickness as the increase of the additional leather, and place it at the rear of the needle and lower your presser foot. Continue stitching and your presser foot will walk cleanly off of the wedge onto the thicker section.