swark77

*BRAND* new from Arkansas

Hey guys, I am a brand new leather worker from Arkansas. I have made three projects so far: a wallet for myself, a belt for my father, and a clutch for my girlfriend. I have made a plethora of mistakes so far and have learned a LOT. Very uncharacteristic of myself as I am a vigorous researcher on anything and everything that I do, I just jumped right in and bought a kit and 5 or so square feet of leather (in the wrong weight) and just went at it. I cut everything at different angles, did many steps out of order, cut things crooked, made the stitch groove far too close to the edge and just overall botched the WHOLE thing, but dang it its a functional wallet. Not only is it a functional wallet, but it feels good in my hand, its real leather not like the crap you buy in store and its wearing so very well in my pocket. Now, it is rough.. and ill put a picture at the end but its almost prehistoric looking. not as much anymore after wearing in my pocket, but it was rough. Learned a lot through making my dad's belt as well, mainly that the rivets were not long enough. Anyways, I have been looking on here for a few days and have already gotten some good insight and am looking forward to more. No website yet or anything of the sort because I want to improve my quality first, but that may be to come soon.  

Looks better than some items in my 'finished but not good' box. You will improve with practice.