tallwelder

Mystery machine

I've been reading on here for sometime with plans to learn leatherwork done by hand, I planned to follow up some time in the future with a sewing machine capable of sewing leather. Things got twisted when I found a Consew 206RB (The ad's description) parts machine that had been dropped and the bed cracked. As a retired welder I thought I would  fix the damage and service said machine in an effort to make it usable again. I bought it and it arrived today but there are no mfg's tags, serial numbers, decals or anything. Through My inexperienced eyes and lots of looking at pics I think it may be a 206RB-5 but if one of You experienced leatherworkers said it was a Singer I would just have to go with that. Here are some pics which show potential identifying  features but also the cracked casting and missing parts. I need to not only identify this but am asking for help determining if this is worth the effort or if I need to turn around and sell parts from it and wait for a better machine?

If the decision is made to repair this one I will need to find a repair manual, I've been able to find parts list easily.

Thank You in advance,

Carl

64801103_899999523678481_4074375799992483840_n.jpg

64734602_387565178557745_9034978257102962688_n.jpg

64845859_2575701482441138_2117986744618975232_n.jpg

64979712_1135219319998504_256297960025882624_n.jpg

Looks like an easy fix,we have welded up a lot of cracked machines over the years.We pre-heated & used nickle rod.They can also be brazed if your better at that.It looks like not too many parts are missing so you should try to save it.

Thank You for Your expert advice, I will begin fixing it this week.

Will the shafts in the bed need marked so they can be timed correctly on re-assembly? I plan to remove the bed to allow for a top notch pre and post heat in the oven.

Thanks again!

Carl