Prestige593

Mini desktop laser, any advice?

Just got this mini desktop laser (purchased on Amazon). It has a working area of 3"X3". Just got it to mess around with before considering spending $3K on a Glowforge. Any advice? I will be using a Mac. Thanks

MiniLaser.jpg

2 hours ago, Prestige593 said:

Any advice?

Be sure to vent the fumes to the outside. Might not seem like much, but depending on what you are cutting/engraving, it can be very important for your health/life. Certain materials, when laser cut, put out toxic or semi-toxic fumes. I'm only going on what others have said, as I'm no expert and am not sure of the severity of each, but PVC is one, some vinyls (like contact paper), and chrome tanned leather have been recognized as problematic.

Ill second Latigo... Chromates burned are a baddie to the ol' breathing aparatus.... and most PVC, Polypropylene and plastics are not good either. it not just a matter of opening a window with a fan- you need to seriously consider a vent tube and fan setup that flows MORE air than you think... Tubed to a window (think dryer duct)...

I have the more no name version and it works well enough. Should have gone with the extra and got the 3000mw model instead of the 1500. It will engrave veg tan fine but even at 100 depth of engraving, it won't cut all the way through 2/3oz veg tan. But, it will engrave nicely and you can even dye stuff after.

IMG_20190228_224422a.jpg

IMG_20190118_010938a.jpg

IMG_20181217_085113a.jpg

@Halitech

How is it going now two months down the line?

2 hours ago, chrisash said:

@Halitech

How is it going now two months down the line?

Love it. Still gong strong and I've made over $500.00 from products made with it and I have repeat customers buying multiple lots of items