Donkeykong

(first post) Used Sewing machines

Hi all,

I'm just getting started in leather working and have been having some fun with it so far. For my first project I fixed my horses girth (the part that the belt goes in so it doesn't poke me in the leg while riding broke, and I decided it was a good as an excuse as any to drop $200++ in materials to fix a $60 girth LOL). Moving on from there I made a sheath for my round knife, and a mystery weave bracelet for my little girl. I'm quickly realizing that I want to get into a sewing machine for some of the projects I have in mind that are very stitching-intensive: I want to make my daughter custom chaps (she is tiny, and everything on the market is too long, or too small in the waist)... I want to make a leather bridle and eventually halter for my Shire horse... I want to make some tool-rolls for my wrenches at work... all of which will take me hours to try and hand sew. Having a farm it's going to be practical to try and start getting busy with this newfound hobby if every project is going to take me 12+ hours. I'll have to try and get a few pictures uploaded. It's been ages since  I have been on a forum, do we still need to get the pictures hosted elsewhere, or can I upload them to this site?

Anyways about the topic..... I am not sure if anyone has every heard of this place, but there is a used industrial machine place not far from me who happens to have random sewing machines. I see a few singers, a few juki and a pfaff. I can't tell if any of them are complete, or even worth looking at. Hopefully posting links is ok? I haven't seen anything against it: HGR Industrial Surplus If anything is worth going to look at, please let me know, the place is less than an hour from me. Some of the descriptions are wrong, but the pictures are not bad. I see they even have some cobbler machines which I would imagine have the power, but I don't see walking feet on them, so I have to assume they will not serve me very well.