Ashley55

Dye still coming off after resolene?!

I'm getting a little frustrated here. I'm still learning and have dyed a few pieces successfully already but this one is driving me crazy. I'm making a halter noseband as a Christmas present and here is what is happening so far:

Applied 2 coats of SuperSheen, let dry totally. Applied Eco-flo antique. Eco-flo antique dyed entire piece, threw out the SuperSheen. Buffed the crap out of it, no dye was coming off, colour actually looked okay so whatever. Applied light coat of resolene cut 50/50 to seal it, picked up some of the antique which was expected. Let dry over night and applied a second coat, still lots of colour coming off? Let dry overnight, and then buffed it, a bit of colour came off. Applied another resolene coat, can still see colour coming off. 

I've applied 4 coats of resolene and colour is still coming up when I apply it, and after it's totally dry if I touch it with a slightly damp paper towel there is colour transfer?! What is going wrong here? The bottle of resolene is only a few months old. The piece still looks half decent, it's just really really shiny, but I dont want the colour coming off on the horses face...

I no longer use SS.  I use Leather Balm with Atom Wax.  1 coat only.  Apply your antique. Personally, I prefer the Fiebings version. The EcoFlo stained through the LB at times. I leave it on just until the surface starts to turn dull.
I then wipe it off using a thick, firm pad of cloth as if I am block dying a piece. I don't want it digging into the impressions and wiping the gel out of them.
I let it dry overnight. I then use 50/50 resolene the same way. Like a block dye. I wipe it once, turn my cloth over so it's a fresh side, wipe it a second time and then let it dry overnight.

Done.