bulldog7

Punching holes

I am brand new to leather working and have a question about holes. I sewed my first little project and I did not do a good job of punching holes. I have the tool to scribe the line on the leather and a pronged chisel and then used an awl but the holes were inconsistent not nearly neat and clean enough. What methods and tools do you recommend for crisp clean hole punching?

I like to use a multi-pronged chisel which will punch many holes at a time. They can be bought with 1 prong, 2, 4, 6, 8 and 10. I only use an awl now to open up the punched holes if I need to. Another tool I use more frequently is a pliers type with four teeth which punches 4 holes at a time, from both sides. Whichever you use, with a multi-pronged/toothed punch, put the first 1 or 2 teeth into the last 1 or 2 punched, this will help keep the line straight.

Pliers type;

1449319375_Stitchingpliers01s.JPG.e6669137f784d7bfde746d692bbf8c0d.JPG

Stitching punches

2014421846_stitchingpunches01s.jpg.3fb99055729842a50916e6d76933dda0.jpg

the multi pronged chisels work very well and are probably the easiest to get good results with. there are other ways also I would also suggest as you are new to leather working to get on the Tandy website they have a ton of free ebooks on leather working that literally covers everything you will need to get started.  https://www.leathercraftlibrary.com/account/signin?ReturnUrl=%2Fcategory%2F79%2Febooks%3Fpagenum%3D1

Search YouTube for 'saddle stitching'; there are several videos; watch a few of them and you'll see how it's done This one is good -

'How to Hand Stitch Leather - Saddle Stitch Tutorial' by JH Leather

Saddle stitching - sometimes called two - hand or double - hand stitching is so common in leatherwork that if you watch almost any item being made, the video will show saddle stitching to some extent

As you are new to leatherwork does that mean you have a new awl?