Sign in to follow this  
Bransen111

Tools to get started with carving?

Hey everyone, 

I hope this hasn't been covered yet but I'm sure it has and I just cant find it. I have been leather working for a while now but mostly making wallets, holsters, keychains etc. without any tooling or carving. I'm now looking to get into the carving aspect of leather working and would primarily be doing tooling and carving on wallets or holsters and mostly figures such as the Police Field Notes Covers that someone posted recently with badges etc. on them. I am going to get a Barry King as I have his awl and really like his tools.  I'm mostly lost on what size swivel knife and blade and angle and also what kind of stamps, shaders i will need as well as the sizes. I'm very new to this so sorry if I'm not aware of the correct terminology etc. 

Thanks, 

Bransen

Are you looking to do traditional Western floral or Sheridan style tooling, or something else?
The tools you want depend on the design -- for example, you might need one size beveller for one line, but a smaller one for another. 
Many of us collect the tools depending on the project, rather than just buying them all at once. I have collected the following bevellers: smooth beveller (Craftool B203, B985-- medium and small), textured beveller (B996), Figure beveller (F896 and F895), and my newest addition of  undercut bevellers (Craftool B60 and B892)
I began with one, then later on picked up others after deciding that a certain effect required a different tool. 
So I've got a small set of 21 tools (bevellers, pears shaders, backgrounders, seeder, etc.), collected slowly over 20 years or so.  Some tools I have only used a few times, and some I use a lot, for most tooling projects (I don't do traditional floral, so I don't have a veiner, for example). 
It's hard to just recommend a group of shaders and stamps without seeing a design first, unless money is no object!