Rikster

Pfaff 145 serial number location

I picked up a well used Pfaff 145 H3 LMNP (ilegible 6/1C or 671C or 6/10?) with clutch motor.  While it needs some attention it seems to work ok when practicing/playing on a leather work glove.  That is saying a lot (or perhaps very little?) for a complete newbie to ALL things sewing.  The serial number appears to be 7574944 which I think makes in born 1962? (young compared to me)  The paint appears original but is a greenish hue - not the gold referenced in this blog.  Once I play a little (gotta get a bobbin winder or learn how2 do that) I'd like to attempt to clean, adjust, and restore the machine and table.  My initial ignorant questions are:

• Does that serial number mach 1962?
  • What does the illegible "6/1C" (or 671C or 6/10) likely infer?
  • Is there a matching hammered green-ish paint that you folks like to use in restorations?
  • Where does one obtain a 6 volt Edison based light bulb (light plugs into clutch motor) ?

152131595_pfaff145.thumb.jpg.5e43642506b7c65ccaf40d22d5ea6556.jpg

Thanx2All,

/Rick

It's a CLPMN I believe.  Pfaff codes for the type and duty of machine.

Matching paint would be Rust-Oleum Hammered Oatmeal.  

The Pfaff 145 is a pretty good machine.  I really like the type of 145 / 545 with the external spring bar on top.  It's very easy to adjust the foot pressure with the double knurled nuts.  

Edited by Pintodeluxe

repainting a pfaff - in my book, that is a bad idea.  or, at least, if were going to buy one, i'd be wary of one that has been repainted.  with the original paint, the story of the machine is told through the paint.  for instance, the machine you show in the photo has low miles.  very low miles.  if it were painted, that fact would be obscured.  a repainted machine - i would assume the worst.