DirtyDusty

Angled Stirrups

I have used angled stirrups on mass produced saddles to help with knee pain. But I noticed you never see them offered on custom saddles, that have the stirrups set with a Hamley twist. Are angled stirrups just a fix for a poor built saddle?

Angled stirrups can definitely be a valued feature on custom saddles. Twisted stirrup leathers (Hamley Twist) are standard on all saddles I've made and many have angled stirrups as well.  A lot of riders find the angled or "canted" stirrups very beneficial, particularly shorter legged riders and riders of big barrelled horses.  I have clients that insist on angled stirrups.  I've been modifying monel stirrups for many years with leather wedges under the tread.  The stirrup shown has a minimal wedge and shown with an optional leather "heel block."  If more angle is desired, I add additional leather wedge.  I understand that some maker of quality monel stirrups is now offering angled stirrup that don't require the wedge modification.  I have yet to find s source but will be interested to learn.

IMG_1525.thumb.JPG.4801085c23e5908c1704cbf5cbeb7681.JPG

Previously I never understood the need for angled stirrups as I am long legged / very bow legged so my leg has always contoured nicely to the side of a horse... However, I shattered my left knee last year in a bad wreck and since then my left leg has been bolted back together / healed up almost straight...I would strongly consider angled stirrups now to take some of the tension off it as it does not sit nearly as nicely as it did before.  (my saddles all have hamley twist)

I guess it may all depend on the physiology of the individual rider...and as Ed pointed out I can definitely see where a short legged/straight legged/knock kneed rider would find this beneficial.  

Ron