Adriayna

Advice on Machine Purchase, $2500 budget range

Hi everyone,

I'm trying to make a transition from hand stitching to a leather sewing machine.  I've done a lot of research and also read some of the threads here.  I'm primarily making bags (3-4oz veg tan; 4-6oz elk) and sheaths (4-6 oz veg tan).  I'm a hobbyist, so I'm not going to have heavy use of the machine. I'd like something that is easy to maintain, dependable, and versatile.  I'm not very mechanically inclined, so I don't want a machine I have to mess with a lot (although I am happy to do regular maintenance on my machine!)  My budget is no more than $2500 for the machine (less, ideally!).

I called a local industrial sewing store to talk about my needs and the guy was like a used car salesman, trying to convince me that I only could buy a Consew 2050 or Derkop Adler - 205, both of which were almost $4000.   I'm sure those machines are both great, but it seems that people are using a lot more than just these two and those are out of my budget.  He told me that no other machines would work for me.

The local Tandy store suggested I consider a TandyPro Cobra Class 20.  I was also looking at the Consew 206RB-5.   I just don't know enough to make a good and informed purchase.

Can you share your suggestions with me?

17 minutes ago, Adriayna said:

Hi everyone,

I'm trying to make a transition from hand stitching to a leather sewing machine.  I've done a lot of research and also read some of the threads here.  I'm primarily making bags (3-4oz veg tan; 4-6oz elk) and sheaths (4-6 oz veg tan).  I'm a hobbyist, so I'm not going to have heavy use of the machine. I'd like something that is easy to maintain, dependable, and versatile.  I'm not very mechanically inclined, so I don't want a machine I have to mess with a lot (although I am happy to do regular maintenance on my machine!)  My budget is no more than $2500 for the machine (less, ideally!).