Mike124

servo motor on vintage domestic sewing machine

First of all I am a new member to this site so, Hi to everyone. I am new to leatherwork and I was thinking.....has anybody ever put a servo motor and speed reduction pulley system on a vintage domestic sewing machine. I obtained a 1954 Necchi Mira machine that runs like a champ, but is lacking in power that is needed. I will just be using it for maybe a couple of pieces of 4-5 oz and less. I can now work through a piece of 4-5 pull up chrome tan and apiece of 4-5 oz veg tan if I put flesh side of chrome tan to the feed dogs. Should I just save this money and apply it to a walking foot machine? ....any thoughts ,suggestions and experience would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

NOTE: I know this is a domestic machine but it seems to be well built and no plastic except for on the light bulb holder. It will sew through much heavier pieces but I don't want to abuse this machine. Thanks again, Mike. I posted this in how do I do that but figured it was the wrong place.

Short answer- The main good which will come from this approach is:  You will already have purchased the servo motor you will want later in your hand. You'll have to come up with a way to adapt the handwheel to a 3L V-belt to take advantage of the added power.....see below.

While the Mira is one of the better domestics and uses the "high shank" presser foot, the feed/transport and presser foot spring are going to be the next weakest link and will always make professional workmanship a risky proposition.