JDsims

Tool Question

Hello All - 

I'm new to leatherworking. I'm looking to buy my first tools.

My plan is to make belts, dog collars, wallets, book covers and gun slings to start with. 

I have been learning on which tools to get but I'm curious on which brands you recommend?

I want something about the middle of the road to start with. 

Thank you for your time.

You say you've been learning what tools to get.  Well, what are they?  So many answers are possible.  Do a search or start watching videos and take notes.  Define your budget and long term goals.  The better the question--the better the answer.  Help us help you. I can't speak for all, but spoon feeding is frowned upon.  First tool tip is, do not buy a kit from eBay or Amazon.

Literally, I'd start with a dinner fork (for spacing), an awl (for poking holes), some John James #2 needles (for sewing), and some "hand sewing thread" from Amazon, and use some sandpaper for edges. Get some cheap belly leather from Tandy (or some other vendor as long as it fits your budget) and make a few things to see if you even like working leather. If you do, then I'd not waste my time with even middle of the road tools. Buy once and cry once, just make sure you are getting the tools you actually need. I have a ton of crap I don't even touch because I bought it when I was stupid and knew no better. I have about 10 basic tools I use all the time, the other 200 or so are rarely touched; make the 10 superior and worry little about the other ones and go slow.

My $.02.

6 minutes ago, battlemunky said:

Buy once and cry once, just make sure you are getting the tools you actually need.

Wished I had that bit of wisdom.  As it turns out I, too, have invested in higher quality tools (Barry King mostly -- assuming they're top quality) and the results are much better.   

@JDsims: Bear in mind that your intended purposes span across "genres" of leatherworking.

Meaning that you'll require a larger repertoire of tools.