baybead15

Leather desk pad

Hello everyone,

I’m somewhat new to to leather and have not figured out what to use when and when not to use what, whether it be different types of leather or finishes.  I would like to make a 28”x20 desk pad for paperwork in my business and just had a few questions.  
What leather would be best between veg tan and oil tan?

-What is the best way to get the leather to lay flat on the desk especially on the corners?

-What would be the best top coat? Does oil tan need to be top coated? The leather will be stained if veg tan is used.  The pad will have important documents on periodically so clean no rub off is necessary.

-Do they make a metal decorative corner piece that would go a couple inches on each side of the corner?

- Will writing on paper transfer onto leather after finish is applied?

Thank you for any and all help

Personally I would put a glass or acrylic  piece to cover and protect the Leather. If veg tan seal it with a leather sealer like Sheen, Resolene , or mop and glow. Not sure about oil maybe nothing. just cover it with clear glass or acrylic .

Edited by Bert03241

-Leather will generally lay flatter as time goes on, but if you want to speed up the process spray it with some water (just enough to dampen) and maybe encourage it with something large and flat on top. Another method would be to roll it up grain side out for a day or two and then unroll it, this should help convince it to be flat.

-Definitely use a top coat of some sort. Resolene is a pretty good all-around sealant and should prevent any dye rub-off.

-Check out the paper section at your local crafting store (Joanne's and the like), they usually carry a line of "vintage" deco stuff that may be suitable. The classic desk pad would have a diagonal corner piece of an accent leather, I always thought that looked good, and it would be a good spot for some tooling.